Alex Bright and Biggs Danner score USAC East Coast Sprint wins

(BLOOMSBURG, PA. 4-14-22) The Bloomsburg Fair Raceway got its 2022 season underway with the Rapid Tire USAC East Coast Sprints presented by Capitol Renegade Custom Coaches & Trailers on hand with a set of twin features.

The event was originally slated as a 25-lap main, however, due to a lower than expected car count officials made the decision to split the event into twin-15 lappers.

Regardless of that the field on hand put on a great show for the fans in each of the features that saw defending champion Alex Bright of Collegeville and current point leader Biggs Danner of Allentown score respective wins.

In the opening race front row starters Mike Thompson and Danner got called for being late to grid and placed to the rear of the field. That moved Bright and Joey Amantea to the front row.

With the waving of chief starter Warren Alston’s race commencing green Bright quickly took the lead. Amantea was making an attempt to stay alongside him going into the first two corners and as he did cut a rut and his car bounced out of line which allowed Christian Bruno to duck underneath and grab second spot.

Afterwards Bright was able to keep himself at a safe distance and hold on for his first time winning at Bloomsburg. Bruno was second with Amantea third.

For the second feature the field had an invert and bringing to the green was Billy Pauch Jr., and Steven Drevicki. Pauch would take the early lead but at the completion of lap two Drevicki slung to the inside of Pauch and dashed to the front running spot.

Once in there Drevicki was slowly pulling away from the pack and clearly looking as though a win was in the cards.

However, with five laps to go it became apparent that Danner was coming on strong and as each lap clicked off he continued to reel in the leader. With just two circuits remaining he was now sizing up Drevicki who was clinging to his lead.

Coming to the white flag the pair ran even out of Turn 4 and by the time they reached the line to begin the final tour Danner, who was on the outside, had edged his way to the front and continued his forward momentum that propelled him to the eventual victory.

It was his second win in three starts this season and second at Bloomsburg.

Bright was third in the nightcap and with that was declared the overall winner for the night.

“It’s cool to get a win here at Bloomsburg. We were good in the first one, got lucky and started on the pole and then pulled a six for the invert for the second feature. We made some moves but weren’t as good in the second one as we were in the first,” said Bright.

“We didn’t really make many adjustments between races and I think that was the problem. We felt we were good and the track changed a little bit and we could have been better. We learned a lot here and it was a great track tonight.”

The Danner and Drevicki battle was indeed a fan pleasing barnburner. Both ran each other clean while putting on a thrilling duel to the finish. For Danner he enters an elite group of drivers who have multiple wins at Bloomsburg which first hosted auto racing in 1922.

“That was awesome and the track was a lot racier in the second feature. Thanks to the whole team for giving me a great car tonight,” said Danner.

“We really didn’t do a whole lot from the first to the second feature. It was just kind of follow the leader in the first one but in the second feature I really got a rhythm. I wasn’t sure if I was going to catch him (Drevicki) or not and thought I was going to over-drive trying. Thankfully it all worked out.”

In the lone heat the verdict went to Thompson. On lap three of that qualifier Carmen Perigo flipped and went into the catch fence in Turn 2 before landing on his roof. He was okay but the car was done for the night.


1st Feature finish (15 laps): 1. Alex Bright, 2. Christian Bruno, 3. Joey Amantea, 4. Briggs Danner, 5. Steven Drevicki, 6. Billy Pauch Jr., 7. Mike Thompson, 8. Aiden Borden, 9. Billy Ney DNS: Carmen Perigo


2nd Feature finish (15 laps): 1. Danner, 2. Drevicki, 3. Bright, 4. Pauch Jr., 5. Amantea, 6. Thompson, 7. Bruno, 8. Borden DNS: Ney, Perigo


Skip to content